How to Format iPhone 4S – 3 Ways to do it

Whether you’re selling off your iPhone 4S and upgrading to the latest one, giving it to a friend, or just want to clear out all the junk on your phone, you need to learn how to format iPhone 4S. If lost your iPhone 4S and need to keep your personal data secure, you can also wipe your iPhone remotely. This guide will show you three simple methods to flash your iPhone 4S.

1. Format the iPhone through the Settings of the Device

If you are looking for the easiest way on how to format iPhone 4S, performing a factory reset directly on the device is your best option. You can either delete your account information and preferences or perform a clean sweep by erasing all the content on your iPhone.

Step 1:

Open the Settings app on the Home screen of your iPhone.

The app with the "gear" icon is the Settings app

The app with the “gear” icon is the Settings app

Step 2:

Tap on the General button and scroll down to find the Reset button.

The Reset button is present at the bottom of the General tab

The Reset button is present at the bottom of the General tab

Step 3:

Press “Erase All Content and Settings” to remove all of the data on your iPhone.

You can choose to either erase your accounts and information, or the entire content

Erase accounts and information or the entire content of your iPhone

Content such as photos, music, apps, contacts and everything else will be removed from the iPhone. The device will reboot after a few minutes, and you will able to view the setup screen.

The first method is the easiest one to go for, since it helps you flash your iPhone in minutes, without too much hassle involved.

Related: 6 Things to do With an Old iPhone

2. Format the iPhone using iTunes

If you are looking for an option on formatting iPhone 4S while securing your device data, you will need the iTunes app on your computer. With the help of iTunes, you can backup all of your important data before flashing your iPhone 4S.

Step 1:

Open iTunes on your Windows or Mac and connect your iPhone to the computer with a USB cable.

Connect the iPhone to your computer via a USB cable

Connect the iPhone to your computer via a USB cable

Step 2:

Open the Summary window in iTunes to view your connected device, and click on Restore.

The Summary shows you information about your iPhone, such as storage capacity and software version

The Summary shows you info abut your iPhone, such as storage capacity and software version

Step 3:

Click on the Restore button to confirm and wait as iTunes erases all of the data on your iPhone 4S.

Confirm to Restore your iPhone and erase all data

Confirm to Restore your iPhone and erase all data

If there is a software update available for your iPhone, iTunes will automatically download and install it while formatting the device. The amount of time required to factory reset your iPhone depends on its software version and the speed of your internet connection (time required to download the update if needed).

The second method may be time consuming and requires you to have a computer with the latest version of iTunes. However, it is the most secure way to back up the content of your iPhone on your computer, since iTunes automatically syncs the device and stores all of the data on the computer’s hard drive before flashing the device.

3. Erase iPhone using the Find My iPhone App

Apple has created the Find My iPhone app to help users locate and secure their iDevices when they misplace or lose it, and you can use this app as a way on how to format iPhone 4S. In order for this method to work, you must set up Find My iPhone on your device, and the device must be connected to a network for it to work.

Step 1:

Open the iCloud website, sign in with your Apple ID & password, and click on the Find My iPhone app icon.

Sign in to your iCloud account

Sign in to your iCloud account

Step 2:

Click on the App Devices tab the top center of the webpage, and select your iPhone 4S from the list of connected devices.

Find My iPhone App uses Geolocation to find your devices

Find My iPhone App uses Geolocation to find your devices

Step 3:

Press the “Erase iPhone” button on the tab to delete all of the data on your device.

Press the "Erase iPhone" button on the window

Press the “Erase iPhone” button on the window

iCloud will ask you enter your Apple ID & password once again to confirm the action. The remote erase will begin only when the iPhone is connected to a network, so make sure that your iPhone is connected to Wi-Fi or mobile network when you erase the data on it with iCloud.

The third method is most preferable for those unfortunate times when you end up losing your device or it gets stolen. By erasing your iPhone remotely, you won’t be able to locate it, or even retrieve it in the future. However, you will be able to safeguard your personal data from the person who has stolen your iPhone.

Video Walkthrough

If you need a detailed and visualized guide on wiping your iPhone 4S or any iPhone for that matter, you can watch the video below.

Some Final Thoughts

The three methods on how to format iPhone 4S can be used practically for all the other iPhone models and iPads as well. There are plenty of other third-party software that can be used to flash iPhone and iPad, but the above methods are the most secure ones since they are officially provided by Apple.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *